Reduced Services

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

In line with social distancing advice and to protect residents and staff the Council has taken the decision to close the Council offices to the public until further notice.

Whilst the offices are closed to visitors, you are still able to access services and information from this website 24/7.

Information and advice on coronavirus (COVID-19) and how to access Council Services during this period can be found on our  Coronavirus information page

You are invited to view and contribute to the The Mayor's Covid Record of Reflection

TIER 4 Message from the Mayor Colin Riley and Leader Norman Smith

Committee Membership

Council Leaders

Mayor: Councillor Colin Riley
Deputy Mayor: Councillor Mrs Pat Haunts
Leader of the Council: Councillor Norman Smith
Deputy Leader of the Council: Councillor Jeffrey Stanley
Chief Executive: David Marchant


Council Membership : All Members are summoned to attend

Cabinet Membership
Councillor N.G Smith  (Chairman) Leader of the Council.
Councillor J. Stanley  (Deputy Leader) Special Projects
Councillor P Varker Resources
Councillor C MacLean Growth - Strategic Planning
Councillor Mrs J Thornton Economic Development Delivery
Councillor G Isaacs People - Community
Councillor W Johnson People - Health & Wellbeing
Councillor Mrs B Egan Place - Housing
Councillor S Hart Place - Infrastructure
Councillor A Sheldon Environment


Scrutiny Committee
Conservative: Councillors: Mrs Blissett, Cutler, Dick, Mumford, Skipp
Canvey Independent: Councillors:  Blackwell, Greig, Tucker
Chairman: Councillor Blackwell



Councillors: Cutler, Mumford, Skipp
    Substitutes - Cllrs Ms Drogman, Walter

Canvey Independent: Councillors: Blackwell, May
    Substitutes - Cllrs Acott, Thomas
Chairman: Councillor Skipp


Policy and Scrutiny Groups

Conservative: Councillors: Cross, Ms Drogman, E Egan, Mrs Haunts, Skipp, Walter
Canvey Independent: Councillors: Anderson, Palmer, Mrs Payne, Thomas
Chairman: Councillor Ms Drogman
Conservative: Councillors: Mrs Blissett, Cutler, Mrs Haunts, Mrs Thornton, Walter, Wood
Canvey Independent: Councillors: Acott, Campagna, Mrs Payne, Withers
Chairman: Councillor Walter
Place and Communities
Conservative: Councillors: Cross, Mrs Haunts, Skipp, Mrs Thornton, Wood
Canvey Independent: Councillors: Harvey, J Payne, Mrs Sach, Withers
Independent Councillor Cole
Chairman: Councillor Wood


Regulatory Committees

Development Management
Conservative: Councillors: Cutler, Hart, Johnson, Mrs Thornton, Walter, Mrs Wass (Substitutes) Ms Drogman, Skipp
Canvey Independent: Councillors: Acott, Anderson, Fuller, Taylor (Substitutes) Palmer, Tucker
Chairman: Councillor Cutler

Councillors: Mrs Blissett, Cross, Johnson, Ms Drogman, E. Egan, Mrs Haunts, Isaacs, MacLean, Skipp

Canvey Independent: Councillors: Acott, Blackwell, Fuller, Harvey, Palmer, Taylor
Chairman: Councillor E. Egan
Conservative: Councillors: Mrs Egan, Hart, Mumford, Varker
Canvey Independent: Councillors: Blackwell, Campagna, May
Independent Councillor Cole
Chairman: Councillor Cole