Back to the list

Declaration of Result of Poll - 12th December 2019

Election of a Member of Parliament for the Castle Point Constituency
on Thursday 12 December 2019

I, David Marchant, being the Acting Returning Officer at the above election, do hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each Candidate at the said election is as follows:

Election Results
Candidate Description Number of Votes*
CURTIS, Katie Elizabeth Labour Party 7,337
HARRIS, Rebecca Elizabeth Scott Conservative Party 33,971 (ELECTED)
HOWSON, John Orell Liberal Democrats 2,969

* If elected the word 'Elected' appears against the number of votes.

Number of rejected ballots
The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows: Number of
ballot papers
A want of an official mark  
B voting for more Candidates than voter was entitled to  
C writing or mark by which voter could be identified  
D being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 296
E rejected in part  
Total 296

Vacant Seats: 1
Electorate: 69,608
Turnout 64.07%

And I do hereby declare that: Rebecca Elizabeth Scott Harris is duly elected as Member of Parliament for the Castle Point Constituency.

David Marchant
Acting Returning Officer

Declaration of UK Parliamentary Election 2019